

#### TONY STEWART TO COMPETE FOR 2023 SRX CHAMPIONSHIP

# NASCAR Hall of Famer will race full-time in SRX for 3<sup>rd</sup> consecutive season

**NEW YORK, NY -- February 23, 2023 --** Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) has announced that Tony Stewart will race full-time in the 2023 SRX Season. Stewart, a 3-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion, and 1997 IndyCar Champion, and SRX Co-Owner, will return to the series full-time for its 3<sup>rd</sup> season. Stewart claimed the inaugural SRX Championship in 2021 and finished 4<sup>th</sup> in the standings in the 2022 campaign.

"I'm excited to race full-time in SRX for a third straight season and compete for another championship," said Tony Stewart. "I'm really proud of what we've all built, and the quality of drivers we've assembled for 2023 is a testament to SRX's success, and the passion and excitement we've earned from fans in the short-track community. We're looking forward to another summer of sold-out racetracks and can't wait to bring Thursday Night Thunder back to ESPN."

Don Hawk, Chief Executive Officer of SRX said: "To have Tony Stewart back for his third year in SRX is huge. Tony has an immeasurable impact on the SRX brand, racing product and the ESPN Broadcast. Tony is really involved during the season and off season. He makes me think deeply about the product on the track, the driver selections, racetracks, and race format. Tony is a fierce competitor first and foremost, and never lets his ownership position in SRX interfere with a good decision or the racing product. It's not often you can say you have 3-time NASCAR Champion driver, multiple series car owner, current NHRA driver, NASCAR Hall of Famer who's not just your boss, but your friend."

SRX will air on six consecutive **Thursday nights at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN** and the ESPN App, bringing back the iconic "ESPN Thursday Night Thunder" branding.

The 2023 SRX Schedule (all times Eastern)

Date	Track	Time	Network
Thursday, July 13	Stafford Motor Speedway (Stafford Springs, CT)	9 p.m.	ESPN
Thursday, July 20	Thunder Road Speedbowl (Barre, VT)	9 p.m.	ESPN
Thursday, July 27	Motor Mile Speedway (Radford, VA)	9 p.m.	ESPN
Thursday, Aug. 3	Berlin Raceway (Grand Rapids, MI)	9 p.m.	ESPN
Thursday, Aug. 10	Eldora Speedway (New Weston, OH)	9 p.m.	ESPN
Thursday, Aug. 17	Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO)	9 p.m.	ESPN

### **About SRX:**

Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) was created by Sandy Montag and The Montag Group, Investor and former NASCAR COO, George Pyne, NASCAR Hall of Famer and legendary driver Tony Stewart, and NASCAR Hall of Fame Crew Chief and Owner Ray Evernham. Over the first two seasons of SRX, the six-race series has featured drivers from a variety of racing backgrounds with an emphasis on champion-level drivers. SRX has seen some of the sport's biggest names compete including: Tony Stewart, Bill Elliott,

Chase Elliott, Tony Kanaan, Paul Tracy, Bobby Labonte, Willy T. Ribbs, Hailie Deegan, Ryan Blaney, Ryan Newman, Greg Biffle, Marco Andretti, Matt Kenseth, Michael Waltrip, Josef Newgarden, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Helio Castroneves, and many more.

In 2022, the series field featured a total of five NASCAR Cup Series Championships, three IndyCar Series Championships, four Daytona 500 Winners, five Indianapolis 500 Winners and four NASCAR Hall of Fame Drivers. Tony Stewart claimed the inaugural SRX Championship in 2021, and Marco Andretti claimed the 2022 Championship.

###

# **SRX Media Contact:**

Andrew Montag, andrew@themontaggroup.com

# **ESPN Media Contact:**

Andy Hall, andy.hall@espn.com