

JOHNNY BENSON JR TO RACE IN SRX AT BERLIN

NEW YORK, NY -- July 29, 2023 -- Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) has announced that Johnny Benson Jr. will join the field at Berlin Raceway on August 3rd in Grand Rapids, Michigan. This will be Benson's SRX debut. Johnny Benson Jr., a Grand Rapids native, has won races across all three major NASCAR series, including 14 in the NASCAR Truck Series. Benson's career accomplishments include winning the 1993 ASA National Tour Championship, 1995 NASCAR Busch Series Championship, and the 2008 NASCAR Truck Series Championship.

"I'm really excited to have the opportunity to race in the SRX series. Not only to compete against some of the best drivers in the country, but to return to my home track, Berlin Raceway," said Johnny Benson Jr.

"It's not often you have the opportunity to invite a good friend and a multiple different series champion to drive in SRX at his hometown track," said Don Hawk, SRX Chief Executive Officer. "I believe this announcement will be warmly received by all those great race fans at Berlin Raceway."

SRX will air on six consecutive **Thursday nights at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN** and the ESPN App, bringing back the iconic "ESPN Thursday Night Thunder" branding.

Remaining 2023 SRX Schedule (all times Eastern)

Date	Track	Time	Network
Thursday, Aug. 3	Berlin Raceway (Grand Rapids, MI)	9 p.m.	ESPN
Thursday, Aug. 10	Eldora Speedway (New Weston, OH)	9 p.m.	ESPN
Thursday, Aug. 17	Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO)	9 p.m.	ESPN

About SRX:

Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) was created by Sandy Montag and The Montag Group, Investor and former NASCAR COO, George Pyne, NASCAR Hall of Famer and legendary driver Tony Stewart, and NASCAR Hall of Fame Crew Chief and Owner Ray Evernham. Over the first two seasons of SRX, the six-race series has featured drivers from a variety of racing backgrounds with an emphasis on champion-level drivers. SRX has seen some of the sport's biggest names compete including: Tony Stewart, Bill Elliott, Chase Elliott, Tony Kanaan, Paul Tracy, Bobby Labonte, Willy T. Ribbs, Hailie Deegan, Ryan Blaney, Ryan Newman, Greg Biffle, Marco Andretti, Matt Kenseth, Michael Waltrip, Josef Newgarden, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Helio Castroneves, and many more.

In 2022, the series field featured a total of five NASCAR Cup Series Championships, three IndyCar Series Championships, four Daytona 500 Winners, five Indianapolis 500 Winners and four NASCAR Hall of Fame Drivers. Tony Stewart claimed the inaugural SRX Championship in 2021, and Marco Andretti claimed the 2022 Championship.

###

SRX Media Contact:

Andrew Montag, andrew@themontaggroup.com

ESPN Media Contact:

Andy Hall, andy.hall@espn.com